Monday, July 10, 2017

New Book Out This Week: _Being Jazmine_ by Cecily Anne Paterson

Being Jazmine (Invisible Book 3) by Cecily Anne Paterson
Print Length: 174 pages
Publication Date: July 12, 2017

I am so excited to see this book come to fruition. In 2014, I gave a friendly challenge to author Cecily Anne Paterson to not only write a third book in her series but to include at least one other deaf character with whom Jazmine could interact. She did her research and I’m impressed with effort and how it all came together.

Jazmine and her new friends are Deaf but this is not a book about deafness. With a wonderful garden metaphor that resonates throughout the series, Being Jazmine offers believable characters and an unpredictable plot that would be perfect to add to any reading list. The series tackles teen relationships, mean girls, family secrets, fitting in, identity, and characters finding themselves.

The characters use Auslan Sign Language to communicate.

Book description:
Jazmine’s deaf. And she’s getting tired. Tired of having to try hard, tired of fitting in, tired of pretending to be like everyone else. 

When Jaz goes to deaf camp, a new world opens up to her. A world where things are easier, and she finally seems to have a place.

But when you leave one world and enter another, what happens to the people you leave behind? And why is one of her new deaf friends suddenly pushed out of the group?
Which world will Jaz live in? Can she keep a foot in both? How will she figure out the best way to be Jazmine?
Being Jazmine is the third book in Cecily Anne Paterson's Invisible series, featuring easy-to-love, hard-of-hearing teen Jazmine Crawford. The first book in the series, Invisible, was a semi-finalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award in 2014. The second, Invincible, was shortlisted in the Australian CALEB Prize in 2016.

New Book: You're Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

You're Welcome, Universe (March 2017) by Whitney Gardner
Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers (March 7, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399551417
Paperback to be released March 6, 2018.

Deaf character that uses ASL.
Book Description
A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.
When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.