Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Children's Book: It's Called Deafness

"It's Called Deafness"
I Am Deaf (Live and Learn Series) by Jennifer Moore-Mallinos (Author), Marta Fabrega (Illustrator)
Reading level: Ages 4-8
Paperback: 32 pages
Publisher: Barron's Educational Series (March 1, 2009)

Product Description

Titles in the Live and Learn series take a child’s point of view--especially the view of children who either suffer from some physical challenge or lack self-confidence in going about their everyday activities. This book describes challenges that hearing-impaired children face, and how one child overcomes them to live a normal, happy life. This attractively illustrated picture storybook series encourages kids to understand themselves and overcome problems that have troubled them. Following each story are four pages of suggested activities that relate to the book’s theme. A final two-page section offers advice to parents. Live and Learn titles are available in both English and Spanish language editions. This is an English language title.

SPW Note: The title is listed as I Am Deaf but the picture on the book calls it It's Called Deafness. Not sure which one is correct... Seems a little confusing to me.

No comments: